Power banks on planes
Power banks must go in your hand luggage, never in checked bags. Since 27 March 2026 you can carry at most two and must not recharge them on board. Up to 100 Wh is allowed on every airline we track. Between 100 and 160 Wh needs the airline’s approval, and many now refuse it; over 160 Wh isn’t allowed at all.
19 of the 28 airlines below also ban using a power bank to charge your devices during the flight.
Is my power bank allowed?
Find the capacity (mAh) and voltage (V) printed on the power bank.
74 Wh
100 Wh or less
Allowed in hand luggage on every airline we track. Most allow two; Emirates, Etihad and Wizz Air allow one.
Watt-hours = mAh × V ÷ 1,000. If your power bank shows Wh, use that number. Whatever its size, it must travel in hand luggage and you can’t recharge it on board.
Power-bank rules by airline
Number allowed, watt-hour limits and whether you can use one on board.
| Airline | Use on board | How many | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aer Lingus | Banned | 2 | Aer Lingus allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, and you can't use or charge them during the flight. Source |
| Air Canada | Not stated | — | Air Canada treats power banks as spare batteries: hand luggage only, up to 100 Wh freely, and up to 2 at 100–160 Wh with approval from its airport agents. Source |
| Air France | Banned | 2 | Air France allows up to 2 power banks in the cabin only, up to 160 Wh (100–160 Wh needs approval in advance). You can't use or recharge them on board. Source |
| American Airlines | Restricted | 2 | American Airlines allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, hand luggage only. You can use one if it's in reach and in view, but not recharge it from seat power. Source |
| British Airways | Not stated | 2 | British Airways allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, and you can't charge them from the seat power sockets. Source |
| Delta | Restricted | 2 | Delta allows no more than two power banks of up to 100Wh each 'with no exceptions', in carry-on only; they may not go in the overhead bin, may not be recharged on board, and may not be used to charge a device during taxi, take-off or landing. Source |
| easyJet | Banned | 2 | easyJet allows up to 2 power banks of up to 160 Wh each, in hand luggage only, with no approval needed. You can't use or recharge them on board. Source |
| EmiratesChanged 1 Oct 2025 | Banned | 1 | Since 1 October 2025 Emirates allows 1 power bank under 100 Wh with a visible capacity rating. You can't use it to charge devices or charge it from aircraft power. Source |
| Etihad | Banned | 1 | Etihad allows only one power bank per passenger, rated 100Wh or less and clearly marked, bans anything over 100Wh, and strictly bans using it on board, including charging devices or charging the power bank itself from aircraft sockets; it must be switched off and protected. Source |
| EurowingsChanged 15 Jan 2026 | Banned | 2 | Since 15 January 2026 Eurowings allows up to 2 power banks; 100–160 Wh needs approval and over 160 Wh is banned. You can't use or charge them on board. Source |
| Iberia | Banned | 2 | Iberia allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, in the cabin only, and you can't use them at any time during the flight. Source |
| Jet2 | Banned | 2 | Jet2 allows up to 2 power banks of up to 160 Wh each, with no approval needed. You can't charge them on board or use them to charge or power any device. Source |
| KLM | Banned | 2 | KLM allows up to 2 power banks in hand luggage; 100–160 Wh needs permission first and over 160 Wh is never allowed. You can't use or charge them on board. Source |
| Loganair | Banned | 2 | Loganair allows up to 2 power banks of up to 160 Wh each, in hand luggage only. You can't use them on board, including to charge other devices. Source |
| LufthansaChanged 15 Jan 2026 | Banned | 2 | Since 15 January 2026 Lufthansa Group airlines allow up to 2 power banks in hand luggage, 100–160 Wh only with prior approval. You can't use or charge them on board. Source |
| Norwegian | Banned | 2 | Norwegian allows up to 2 power banks in hand luggage only; 100–160 Wh needs approval and over 160 Wh is banned. You can't use them on board. Source |
| Qatar AirwaysChanged 18 Jun 2026 | Restricted | 2 | Qatar Airways allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, cabin only. You can't recharge them on board and can charge devices only in non-critical phases of flight. Source |
| Ryanair | Restricted | 2 | Ryanair allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each. You can charge your devices except during taxi, take-off and landing, but never recharge a power bank on board. Source |
| SWISSChanged 15 Jan 2026 | Banned | 2 | Since 15 January 2026 SWISS allows up to 2 power banks (100–160 Wh only with prior approval). You can't charge devices with them or charge them on board. Source |
| TAP Air Portugal | Banned | 2 | TAP allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, in hand luggage only, and you can't use or charge them at any stage of the flight. Source |
| Transavia | Not stated | — | Transavia treats power banks as spare lithium batteries: hand luggage only, never in the hold, up to 100 Wh each. Check with the airline before you fly. Source |
| TUI (TUI Airways UK) | Banned | 2 | TUI Airways allows up to 2 power banks of no more than 100Wh each, placed under the seat in front or in the seat pocket (not the overhead locker), and they must not be used to charge other devices or be charged themselves during any phase of the flight. Source |
| Turkish Airlines | Banned | 2 | Turkish Airlines allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, in the cabin only. You can't charge them or use them to charge other devices at any stage of the flight. Source |
| UnitedChanged 1 Mar 2026 | Not stated | — | United reportedly no longer allows power banks in overhead bins (from 1 March 2026) and otherwise keeps the old US limits of 100Wh freely and 100-160Wh with airline approval, but none of this could be confirmed on united.com. Source |
| Virgin Atlantic | Banned | 2 | Virgin Atlantic allows up to 2 power banks in hand luggage; 100–160 Wh needs Customer Centre approval and over 160 Wh is banned. You can't use them to charge devices. Source |
| Volotea | Not stated | 2 | Volotea allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, in hand luggage only. Anything over 100 Wh is banned. Source |
| Vueling | Banned | 2 | Vueling allows up to 2 power banks of up to 100 Wh each, in the cabin only. You can't charge them or use them to charge other devices during the flight. Source |
| Wizz Air | Banned | 1 | Wizz Air allows just 1 power bank each, up to 100 Wh, and you can't use or recharge it at any point in the flight. Source |
General limits from IATA – Passengers Travelling with Lithium Batteries – Guidance Document, Revised for the 2026 Regulations (dated 31/03/2026).